Skip to Content

Privacy Statement

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information associated with users of the Province of Ontario’s Highway 407 is governed principally by the Highway 407 East Act, 2012. The legislation provides that the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) may by agreement authorize a service provider to collect and enforce tolls on MTO’s behalf. Tolling and billing services for Highway 407 are provided for MTO by 407 ETR Concession Company Ltd. (407 ETR Ltd.), the operator and manager of Highway 407 ETR.

Personal information associated with users of Highway 407 can be collected, used or disclosed only for the following purposes:

  • Collection of tolls, fees and other charges for use of Highway 407.
  • Traffic planning and revenue management for Highway 407.
  • Communicating with Highway users for the purpose of promoting Highway 407.
  • Assisting another province or a U.S. state with which MTO has a toll enforcement agreement.

For vehicles using Highway 407 without a transponder, MTO will provide 407 ETR Ltd. with the following personal information for billing purposes about the person in whose name the license plate of the vehicle is registered:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Plate validation expiry date
  • Driver’s licence number, or the number assigned to a person to identify vehicles or plates registered to the person.

The foregoing information may also be provided to 407 ETR Ltd. in respect of all users of Highway 407 (including those with transponders) as required for the purposes listed above. In addition, MTO and 407 ETR Ltd. may collect and disclose the personal information of Highway 407 users from and to other organizations for the permitted purposes. 407 ETR Ltd. and any other organization to whom MTO has disclosed the personal information of Highway 407 users must take measures to protect the privacy and confidentiality of that information during its storage, transportation, handling and destruction. It is an offence punishable by a maximum $5,000 fine to knowingly use or disclose personal information supplied by MTO for any purpose other than those noted above.

Where a driver has used both Highway 407 and Highway 407 ETR, rules governing personal information set out in the Highway 407 Act, 1998 also apply and these rules closely resemble those that apply to users of Highway 407, as described above. For more information, review 407 ETR Ltd.’s privacy policy applicable to users of Highway 407 ETR. Personal information in the custody of MTO is also governed by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act which applies to all ministries and most agencies of the Government of Ontario. For more information, review Ontario’s Privacy statement.

Questions or comments regarding this privacy policy may be directed to the Strategic Highways Management Office, Ministry of Transportation, by e-mailing www.askSHMO@ontario.ca or calling 416-235-4216 or writing to:

Strategic Highways Management Office
Ministry of Transportation
159 Sir William Hearst Avenue
Building D, 7th Floor
Toronto, ON M3M 0B7

Déclaration de confidentialité | Autoroute 407 FR::Skip to Content

Déclaration de confidentialité

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels associés aux usagers de l’autoroute 407 de la province de l’Ontario sont régies principalement par la Loi de 2012 sur l’autoroute 407 Est. La Loi prévoit que le ministère des Transports (MTO) pourrait, au moyen d’accords, autoriser un fournisseur de services à percevoir et à recouvrer des péages au nom du MTO. Les services de péage et de facturation pour l’autoroute 407 sont fournis par 407 ETR Concession Company Ltd. (407 ETR Ltd.), la société qui exploite et gère l’autoroute 407 ETR, au nom du MTO.

Les renseignements personnels associés aux usagers de l’autoroute 407 peuvent être recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués seulement aux fins suivantes :

  • collecte des péages, frais et autres paiements exigibles pour l’utilisation de l’autoroute 407;
  • activités de planification de la circulation et de gestion des recettes à l’égard de l’autoroute 407;
  • communication avec les usagers de l’autoroute 407 afin d’en promouvoir l’utilisation;
  • assistance à une autre province ou à un État des États-Unis avec lequel le ministère a conclu un accord relativement à la perception et au recouvrement des péages.

Pour les véhicules qui empruntent l’autoroute 407 sans être équipés d’un transpondeur, le MTO fournira à 407 ETR Ltd., aux fins de facturation, les renseignements personnels suivants sur les personnes au nom de desquelles les plaques d’immatriculation des véhicules sont enregistrées :

  • Nom
  • Adresse
  • Date d’expiration de la validité de la plaque d’immatriculation
  • Numéro du permis de conduire ou numéro attribué à une personne pour identifier les véhicules ou les plaques d’immatriculation enregistrés au nom de la personne.

Ces renseignements peuvent aussi être fournis à 407 ETR Ltd. à propos de tout usager de l’autoroute 407 (y compris ceux qui utilisent un transpondeur) aux fins énumérées ci-dessus. De plus, le MTO et 407 ETR Ltd. peuvent recueillir des renseignements personnels sur les usagers de l’autoroute 407 auprès d’autres organismes et les leur divulguer aux fins autorisées. 407 ETR Ltd. et tout autre organisme à qui le MTO a divulgué les renseignements personnels d’usagers de l’autoroute 407 doivent prendre des mesures pour protéger la confidentialité de ces renseignements durant leur stockage, leur transport, leur manutention et leur destruction. Toute utilisation ou divulgation volontaire des renseignements personnels fournis par le MTO à toute autre fin que celles qui sont mentionnées ci-dessus constitue une infraction passible d’une amende maximale de 5 000 $.

Lorsqu’un conducteur a emprunté à la fois l’autoroute 407 et l’autoroute 407 ETR, les règles régissant les renseignements personnels établies dans la Loi de 1998 sur l’autoroute 407 s’appliquent également, et ces règles ressemblent de près à celles qui s’appliquent aux usagers de l’autoroute 407 décrites ci-dessus. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la politique de confidentialité applicable aux usagers de l’autoroute 407 ETR de 407 ETR Ltd. Les renseignements personnels sous la garde du MTO sont aussi régis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, qui s’applique à tous les ministères et à la plupart des organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la Déclaration concernant la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario.

Vous pouvez envoyer vos questions et commentaires sur cette politique de protection de la vie privée au Bureau de gestion des routes stratégiques, ministère des Transports, en envoyant un courriel à www.askSHMO@ontario.ca, en appelant le 416 235-4216 ou en envoyant une lettre à l’adresse ci-dessous :

Bureau de gestion des routes stratégiques
Ministère des Transports
159, avenue Sir William Hearst
Édifice D, 7e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M3M 0B7